Using integer cycle point as an index to a list of parameters

Hi,

I am just getting started using cycle points, and trying to cycle over a workflow where each iteration is assigned a specific variable to be called by the tasks (specifically a date as a string). I can run a single iteration by defining one of the cylc parameters to be the datestring, and then calling this within the tasks. However, I would like to be able to provide a list of dates that could be cycled over one after the other (not all together). Can I use the integer cylcing to index the list of dates and pick one for each cycle. Or perhaps there is a better alternative to achieve the same outcome?
Many thanks,

I am not sure what you are trying to describe here, but here are a couple of possible pointers for help (I am assuming you are using Cylc 8):

• The datetime cycling tutorials if you haven’t already gone through them
  • You can use the CYLC_TASK_CYCLE_POINT environment variable in task runtime scripts. This is the current cycle point of the task at runtime. See here for the full list of environment variables
    • You can also use the isodatetime command to fiddle about with datetimes in the task script. Try isodatetime --help for info.

Do you have a workflow file you can share so we can better understand?

If you want to iterate over a list of dates I’d use date-time cycling, not integer. I’m guessing that your workflow might look a bit like:

[scheduling]
    initial cycle point = 1066
    stop after cycle point = 1086
    [[graph]]
        # Create a dependency on the previous task
        P1Y = my_task[-P1Y] => my_task
[runtime]
    [[my_task]]
        script = """
            # Demo of how wierd a format isodatetime could output.
            TIME_POINT=$(isodatetime "$CYLC_TASK_CYCLE_POINT" --print-format "YEAR=%Y MONTH=%m DAY=%d")
            # Run your script:
            my_script" --date="${TIME_POINT}"