Workflow consistently stalling

hey,

i have a workflow which is running fine but it keeps on stalling with messages like…

> cylc log u-cv956|grep -i 'is waiting on'
      * 20090701T0000Z/housekeeping is waiting on
      ['20090701T0000Z/postproc:succeeded']

this is unexpected since this task has definitely completed successfully and so i am having to use cylc set-outputs to fix these stalls. i have messed around with this suite a lot workflow i am a cylc 8 noob but i was just wondering if anyone knows of a reason why this might be happening and if so how to fix it?

i have an identical (in cylc terms anyway) workflow which is running fine so i know it’s something that i must have broken manually without meaning to! :smile:

btw i have manually run cylc triger --flow=new ... a couple of times to force a housekeeping task to rerun so that i could test a postprocessing workflow which is run as part of a post-script. this may well have messed things up.

cheers,

jonny

Hi @jonnyhtw

The fact that the identical workflow is running fine shows there’s nothing fundamentally wrong, which is good.

this is unexpected since this task has definitely completed successfully and so i am having to use cylc set-outputs to fix these stalls. … btw i have manually run cylc trigger --flow=new ... a couple of times

I suspect you have inadvertently started a new flow, with a new flow number, (i.e. a new self-perpetuating run through the graph) and the apparently-unsatisfied prerequisites pertain to the other flow.

Can you stop your workflow, then restart it with cylc play --debug so we can see flow numbers in the log. You can show me the results offline, and I’ll post an update here later once we’ve confirmed what’s happening.

1 Like

Actually, flow numbers should still be reported without debug mode on. Do you see this sort of thing:

WARNING - [20200101T0000Z/foo failed job:01 flows:1] did not complete required outputs:
    ['succeeded']